And so it begins

In an attempt to try something new for my blog, I enrolled in Old Chicago’s World Beer Tour on Monday. The World Beer Tour is OC’s rewards program that encourages patrons to drink 110 different beers on tap in order to get your name on a plaque. A plaque you say? That sounds lame you say? Well they also have other prizes available along the way:

WBT Credits 1st Trip Multiple Trips
10 WBT Credits WBT Playing Cards 5 OC Bucks
25 WBT Credits WBT Clip-on Watch and Compass 5 OC Bucks
40 WBT Credits Old Chicago Bottle Opener 5 OC Bucks
55 WBT Credits WBT T-Shirt 15 OC Bucks
70 WBT Credits WBT Travel Mug 5 OC Bucks
85 WBT Credits WBT Baseball Cap 5 OC Bucks
100 WBT Credits WBT Travel Cooler 5 OC Bucks
110 WBT Credits WBT Sweatshirt 20 OC Bucks

I’m really looking forward to the clip on watch…..

I have a handy little card that keeps track of all my beers and can log into my account online to see my progress.

wbt

As you can see, I’m 4 beers in and already found a loophole! Even though you can only drink different beers, the way they code the rotating pints is all under the same number. So my two Leinenkugel Summer Shandys from Monday both counted. Suckaaas!

Moving forward, I’m going to review each of the beers I try (and all the prizes I get!!!!), but since I just came up with this idea I don’t have anything great for the beers I tried, I don’t have a great review for them. Luckily, I didn’t go too far out of my comfort zone, or the realm of beers that people have heard of, drinking the shandys, a Blue Moon Belgian White Belgian-Style Wheat Ale, and the Sierra Nevada Ruthless Rye.

The regular blog posts will keep on coming, but keep your eyes out for the WBT tags, too!

Leave a comment